Melt in Your Mouth Pancakes

The best pancake recipe

My husband and I watched one of my all time favorite movies on Valentine’s night: Julie & Julia. I just love the scene where Julia is teaching a cooking class and flips over the dish and says, “Perfect!” and then noticing an imperfection says, “And even if it isn’t, never apologize. No excuses! No explanations!”

I love that mindset! That is so grace. It’s so easy to fall into the mindset where we point out all the flaws in something instead of being gracious and graceful.

I woke up on Saturday morning to find my husband whipping up some pancakes. I think this is the first time he’s made pancakes so when he sees me walk in he says, “Hey, I’m making pancakes and I think we are out of milk. What do I do?”

I say, very nonchalantly (after commenting on how awesome it is that he is making pancakes for us!), “just mix half heavy whipping cream, half almond milk and it will be close enough.”

Well a few thoughts: 1) the batter way way too thick! 2) and this is not necessarily a bad thing. 😉

We had to use a spoon to spread them out, that is how thick they were. However, these made for the most melt-in-your-mouth, creamy, cake-y pancakes ever. They were so good. I do think next time I will change up the ratio of cream to milk again, however I will definitely be trying cream again. So yummy.

Sometimes imperfect recipes actually taste the best 🙂

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Pancakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • a few pinches of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2/3 cup whole milk
  1. Pre-heat a griddle to 325*F.
  2. Mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl mix together the egg, butter, cream, and milk. Mix into the dry ingredients.
  4. Heat additional butter on a griddle and use a 1/4 cup measure to pour out pancakes.  You may have to use a spoon to help scoop out and spread the batter.
  5. Cook until brown on both sides and serve immediately with real maple syrup. Mmmm. 🙂

Pancakes made with heavy cream
Pancakes for breakfast
Pancake with syrup

Leave a Reply

